Windows 10 Thread

Phones, computers, tablets, and all other forms of electronic wizardry
User avatar
ThatOneFox
Moderator
Posts: 17612
Joined: January 20th, 2013, 5:53 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1
Contact:

Windows 10 Thread

Postby ThatOneFox » July 29th, 2015, 6:40 am

So windows 10 released today. If you don't have it yet, you can either wait until you get offered the upgrade or you can follow these steps:
1- Make sure the folder C:\$Windows.~BT exists and is around 6gb in size.
2- Make sure windows automatic updates is enabled
3- Open command prompt in administrator mode
4- Enter the command "wuauclt.exe /updatenow"

What are you guys thoughts so far? Personally I'm really enjoying it. I've had the technical build for a while now. The new browser is great, the start menu being back is a good move on MS, although if you liked the "metro" start menu, you can enable it again. Cortana is amazing and is full of hidden easter eggs.

Post opinions here.

[spoiler] Image
Amazing
[/spoiler]
:skull: :bungee: Keith Keiser has a better ass than you :bungee: :skull:

User avatar
Entity
Editorial Staff
Posts: 3097
Joined: November 29th, 2012, 9:41 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1

Postby Entity » July 29th, 2015, 8:52 am

I've been on windows 7 for years now and I am perfectly happy with it. I've heard Windows 10 has a couple cool features (like multiple desktops and Cortana) but... idk, I don't feel like it's enough to risk the switch.

Really wish I could virtualbox a technical build but I can't find any that work.
:crate:
:crate: :crate:
:crate: :crate: :crate:

User avatar
Bad At Gravity
Member
Posts: 652
Joined: June 28th, 2015, 6:41 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 0

Postby Bad At Gravity » July 29th, 2015, 11:02 am

I'm using some computer magic, running windows 10 on my laptop through my desktop.
░█▀▀█ ─█▀▀█ ░█──░█ ░█▀▀█───
░█▄▄▀ ░█▄▄█ ░█░█░█ ░█▄▄▀───
░█─░█ ░█─░█ ░█▄▀▄█ ░█─░█───

User avatar
ThatOneFox
Moderator
Posts: 17612
Joined: January 20th, 2013, 5:53 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1
Contact:

Postby ThatOneFox » July 29th, 2015, 12:37 pm

Entity wrote:I've been on windows 7 for years now and I am perfectly happy with it. I've heard Windows 10 has a couple cool features (like multiple desktops and Cortana) but... idk, I don't feel like it's enough to risk the switch.

Really wish I could virtualbox a technical build but I can't find any that work.


Honestly if you like 7, you'll like 10. I upgraded and all of my applications still work, so you should be fine.
:skull: :bungee: Keith Keiser has a better ass than you :bungee: :skull:

User avatar
Bad At Gravity
Member
Posts: 652
Joined: June 28th, 2015, 6:41 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 0

Postby Bad At Gravity » July 29th, 2015, 4:45 pm

Yeah, windows 10 has the best parts of 7 and 8, but without all the crappy stuff from 8.
░█▀▀█ ─█▀▀█ ░█──░█ ░█▀▀█───
░█▄▄▀ ░█▄▄█ ░█░█░█ ░█▄▄▀───
░█─░█ ░█─░█ ░█▄▀▄█ ░█─░█───

User avatar
Miniike
Well-Known Member
Posts: 10941
Joined: November 1st, 2012, 12:03 pm
Location: my beautiful house with my beautiful wife
Contact:

Postby Miniike » July 29th, 2015, 6:09 pm

oh wait so it's good

gosh dang i guess I better get it then
:pigflag: for fricking fricks sake why do i still care :pigflag:
:lock: 1. Wild Life 2. China Pig 3. The Blimp (Mousetrapreplica) 4. Sugar N' Spikes 5. Ant Man Bee :lock:
:bomb: you'll love it, it's a way of life :bomb:

User avatar
ThatOneFox
Moderator
Posts: 17612
Joined: January 20th, 2013, 5:53 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1
Contact:

Postby ThatOneFox » July 29th, 2015, 6:28 pm

Vidya games run faster

worth it.
:skull: :bungee: Keith Keiser has a better ass than you :bungee: :skull:

User avatar
Sebastian Lawe
Moderator
Posts: 2533
Joined: October 17th, 2012, 7:58 am
Design Competitions Voted: 0
Contact:

Postby Sebastian Lawe » July 30th, 2015, 12:30 am

I ended up having to purchase a Win10 license :/
Thats what happens when the Win7 key used was taken off another computer I suppose.

User avatar
bionicnacho
Administrator
Posts: 5684
Joined: October 30th, 2012, 7:11 am
Contact:

Postby bionicnacho » July 30th, 2015, 10:17 am

Another way of getting it is downloading the Windows 10 Media Creation Tool from microsoft (just google search it) and following through the steps. You'll need your activation key though (which can be found on the bottom of most laptops or in the box of the computer).

The release of Windows 10 finally inspired me to actually get around to setting up the dualboot in my computer (for those that don't know, I'm on a "Mac" [Hackintosh] that I built myself). Buuuuut then I realized I don't have an activation key XD
Image

User avatar
ThatOneFox
Moderator
Posts: 17612
Joined: January 20th, 2013, 5:53 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1
Contact:

Postby ThatOneFox » July 30th, 2015, 10:35 am

bionicnacho wrote:Another way of getting it is downloading the Windows 10 Media Creation Tool from microsoft (just google search it) and following through the steps. You'll need your activation key though (which can be found on the bottom of most laptops or in the box of the computer).

The release of Windows 10 finally inspired me to actually get around to setting up the dualboot in my computer (for those that don't know, I'm on a "Mac" [Hackintosh] that I built myself). Buuuuut then I realized I don't have an activation key XD


You can get keys pretty cheap on g2a.com
:skull: :bungee: Keith Keiser has a better ass than you :bungee: :skull:

User avatar
bionicnacho
Administrator
Posts: 5684
Joined: October 30th, 2012, 7:11 am
Contact:

Postby bionicnacho » July 30th, 2015, 10:40 am

StreetLights wrote:You can get keys pretty cheap on g2a.com


I thought G2A was for games XD

Will new Windows 8.1 licenses work? They should right? Since you can upgrade for free
Image

User avatar
ThatOneFox
Moderator
Posts: 17612
Joined: January 20th, 2013, 5:53 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1
Contact:

Postby ThatOneFox » July 30th, 2015, 12:02 pm

bionicnacho wrote:I thought G2A was for games XD

Will new Windows 8.1 licenses work? They should right? Since you can upgrade for free


Yep. Just install then upgrade.
:skull: :bungee: Keith Keiser has a better ass than you :bungee: :skull:

User avatar
Entity
Editorial Staff
Posts: 3097
Joined: November 29th, 2012, 9:41 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1

Postby Entity » July 30th, 2015, 1:41 pm

Upgraded yesterday. It was kinda buggy at first but after updates installed and I restarted a few times everything seems to be smoothed out.

I like it :)
:crate:
:crate: :crate:
:crate: :crate: :crate:

User avatar
ElectroYoshi
Well-Known Member
Posts: 11061
Joined: October 18th, 2012, 8:27 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1

Postby ElectroYoshi » July 30th, 2015, 2:19 pm

I'm gonna start by shooing the elephant out of the room: I am SO grateful that they turned Metro into just a portion of the Start Menu. I'm still not a fan of its design, but at least it's not shoehorned in like it was before.

I like Windows 10. I haven't upgraded for myself yet, but it all just feels a lot more polished than 7 and 8. Also helping matters is the option for multiple desktops, which is the one thing about OS X I wish past versions of Windows had had.

So yeah, no complaints here either.
I need a shot again, that sweet adrenaline.

User avatar
Entity
Editorial Staff
Posts: 3097
Joined: November 29th, 2012, 9:41 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1

Postby Entity » July 30th, 2015, 4:22 pm

ElectroYoshi wrote:I'm gonna start by shooing the elephant out of the room: I am SO grateful that they turned Metro into just a portion of the Start Menu. I'm still not a fan of its design, but at least it's not shoehorned in like it was before.


btw, you can grab the start menu from the right and resize it down, and it snaps to a point where there's no metro at all. That's what I did.
:crate:
:crate: :crate:
:crate: :crate: :crate:

User avatar
ElectroYoshi
Well-Known Member
Posts: 11061
Joined: October 18th, 2012, 8:27 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1

Postby ElectroYoshi » July 30th, 2015, 11:49 pm

Entity wrote:btw, you can grab the start menu from the right and resize it down, and it snaps to a point where there's no metro at all. That's what I did.


GLORY 'ALLELUJAH!!!!! (Not sure what I'm cheering about, I wasn't planning to use Metro anyway, but whatever).
I need a shot again, that sweet adrenaline.

User avatar
Entity
Editorial Staff
Posts: 3097
Joined: November 29th, 2012, 9:41 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1

Postby Entity » July 31st, 2015, 7:19 am

ElectroYoshi wrote:GLORY 'ALLELUJAH!!!!! (Not sure what I'm cheering about, I wasn't planning to use Metro anyway, but whatever).


Actually I just discovered that you can't pin items to the start menu... only the live tile area. Guess I'll be using it after all :l
:crate:
:crate: :crate:
:crate: :crate: :crate:

User avatar
ThatOneFox
Moderator
Posts: 17612
Joined: January 20th, 2013, 5:53 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1
Contact:

Postby ThatOneFox » July 31st, 2015, 7:59 am

You couldnt pin items to the start menu anyway. You had to create a start menu shortcut when installing the program.
:skull: :bungee: Keith Keiser has a better ass than you :bungee: :skull:

User avatar
Entity
Editorial Staff
Posts: 3097
Joined: November 29th, 2012, 9:41 pm
Design Competitions Voted: 1

Postby Entity » July 31st, 2015, 2:16 pm

I installed [url='https://www.stardock.com/products/start10/']Start10[/url] because I got sick of messing around with the start menu, and I fully intend to buy it when my trial runs out. Windows 7 start menu was perfect, dunno why they changed it...
:crate:
:crate: :crate:
:crate: :crate: :crate:

User avatar
ZeroSwordsMaster
Editorial Staff
Posts: 168
Joined: August 26th, 2013, 4:53 pm
Contact:

Postby ZeroSwordsMaster » July 31st, 2015, 2:43 pm

Ooh, just saw the bit about G2A...
Next allowance I may have to get it there and dual boot :D


Return to “Technology Talk”

Who is online

Registered users: No registered users