The forum has been archived
While the forum may not be active, the community still lives on Discord! Click here to join us.

2d Atmosphir - What Do You Think?

Share your creative endeavors
Entity
Editorial Staff
Design Competitions Voted: 1

2d Atmosphir - What Do You Think?

Post by Entity »

I haven't started working on it, and I don't know if I ever will, but I'm just kinda testing the grounds, ya know. (That thin pillar looking thing is supposed to be a door. Just bear in mind I'm a programmer, not an artist :P It almost definitely won't use Atmosphir resources, that's just a quick mock-up.)

There would be two main game modes:
  • Voxel mode: Everything is destroyable and collectable. Every block, ever door, everything. And you can place blocks you've collected. Think terraria, with guns. Will almost always be used for making multiplayer maps.
  • Adventure/Atmosphir mode: Just like the old Atmosphir we know and love :) You can't break anything (except breakable blocks of course). Keys unlock doors etc... etc... etc...
Both modes can be used for singleplayer and multiplayer maps. The same options will be available that you're used to in Atmosphir (find the finish, collect X points, death match, team death match, capture the flag etc...).
And since this is still just an idea, the possibilities are endless:
  • I'm thinking the player might be 2 blocks tall
  • Instead of three types of weapons (lasers, bombs and firearms) there would just be "weapons."
  • Each weapon could possibly have it's own type of ammo (machine gun ammo, pistol ammo, bomb launcher ammo, flower blaster ammo)
  • Or there could just be a "universal" ammo
  • Or both
  • The weapons could be unlockable as you gain XP (although we might not want to open that can of beans so,)
  • All the weapons could just be available, and the level designer would decide which weapons are available.